Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I'll readminister on a muff, but not on a fumble. Why does the player deserve another chance?
|
So, tell me, what's the difference between a "fumble" (your word), and "accidental drop" (the wording in the NFHS case play)?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
If A1 is holding the ball at the top of the key and drops it so that it rolls away, would you blow the whistle and give the ball back to the player? That would be silly.
|
Of course it would be silly - there's no rule or case play that would allow it.
But there is a case play that allows an official to stop play when a player accidentally drops a live ball while the clock is stopped (i.e.: a free throw). The NCAA A.R takes it the step further by allowing the same stoppage on the throw-in. While I understand your position, and for the most part agree with it, I'm just trying to figure where we get to include "intent" in our decision?