View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 16, 2008, 11:41pm
Dave Reed Dave Reed is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
...if you interpret backswing to mean the continuous traveling of the bat around and behind the batter after the swing.
That's the motion. I'm not going to quote the whole PBUC rule, or the similar comments in J/R, but the PBUC Manual titles the rule "Backswing Hits Catcher", and it refers to the bat hitting the catcher or ball in back (hence the name) of the batter during the follow through.

PBUC manual doesn't call it backswing interference, because it isn't interference at all, but only a dead ball strike, and no runners can advance.

J/R terms it confusingly one kind of "interference without a play", and according to them, it is interference, but it is still only a dead ball strike.

Apparently the Grey Lady hasn't read all the interps!
Reply With Quote