View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 28, 2000, 12:45am
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Mark Dexter is exactly right. If an official makes a mistake and grants a timeout to a team when that team did not have the right to be granted one, then you give it to them but you don't change the possession of the ball.

Here's a nightmare I had about 5 years ago. I was training a younger official in a JV level game. Team B just stole the ball and was heading the other way when he granted a timeout to team A because one of their players requested it. Guess what? Team A was out of timeouts at the time! This was in the last two minutes of a three point game (team A ahead).

Let's use this as a discussion topic. What would you have done? What do you think I did (knowing I like to stick to the letter of the rules most every time).

BTW - Jose, PLEASE DON'T SHOUT. Thank you.

[This message has been edited by Mark Padgett (edited August 28, 2000).]
Reply With Quote