Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L
grant...also see in your quote of 7.5.2L, (I too only have the 2007 casebook with me).
In the explanation of the ruling: "completed pass in both (a) and (b), the contact by B1 changed the direction of A2 and he is given forward progess (emphasis mine). So we have 2 different casebook rulings that appear to be in conflict with each other.
I still say, the opinion in the casebook regarding 3.4.3c is wrong. 4.2.2 says it's wrong and the wording here says it's wrong.
|
Mike,
If I am understanding all this correctly now (and lord knows that is a strecth for me recently

), in either play we are going to award forward progress. The impact on the clock depends on whether A was controlled in bounds by B or not. So if A is merely pushed out in an opposite direction he was heading, you award forward progress and stop the clock because he wasn't controled in bounds by B. Now if B wrapped the airborne A player up and drove him OOB, I would say that the clock runs in this case since his forward progress was stopped in bounds and then driven out of bounds.
Is that along the right train of thought?
IMHO, on Saturday and Sunday in either case they are going to wind the clock, and from what I've been told by some D1 guys, that if there is a shadow of a doubt in their mind, they are going to wind it unless they are under 5 minutes left in the half. Can we apply that to our level? Possibly.