Quote:
Originally Posted by Murd
If you throw a 10yd backward pass and it's dropped is it a incomplete pass or ruled a lateral? your technical description is very impressive.
|
It's ruled a grounded backward pass.
Rule 2-31 Passing
ART. 2 . . . A
forward pass is a pass thrown with its initial direction toward the opponent’s end line.
ART. 3 . . . A
forward pass has gone beyond the neutral zone if at any time during the pass, the entire ball is beyond the neutral zone.
ART. 4 . . . A
forward pass ends when it is caught, touches the ground or is out of bounds.
ART. 5 . . . A
backward pass is a pass thrown with its initial direction parallel with or toward the runner’s end line.
ART. 6 . . . A
backward pass ends when it is caught or recovered or is out of bounds.
Now, there are some who will say that the word 'lateral' does not exist in the rule book. They would be incorrect.
Rule 2-9 Fair Catch
ART. 3 . . . A valid fair-catch signal is the extending and
lateral waving of one arm, at full arm’s length above the head, by any member of the receiving team.
Rule 2-17 Free-Blocking Zone
ART. 1 . . . The free-blocking zone is a rectangular area extending
laterally 4 yards either side of the spot of the snap and 3 yards behind each line of scrimmage. A player is in the free-blocking zone when any part of his body is in the zone at the snap.
Rule 2-26 Lines
ART. 6 . . . The sideline is the
lateral limit of the field of play and the end zones. It extends from one end line to the other.
Rule 7-1 Before the Snap
ART. 2 . . . The snapper may lift the ball for
lateral rotation but may not rotate end-for-end or change the location or fail to keep the long axis of the ball at right angles to the line of scrimmage.
There are some other mentions of 'lateral' in the book but it's in reference to 6, 8 and 9 player games.