Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by johnnyg08
					
				 
				The runner hasn't safely touched 1B before the 3rd out...no run.  I don't understand the advantageous 4th out appeal here...that wouldn't be right would it? 
			
		 | 
	
	
 R2 was tagged for the 3rd out. BR never touched 1st so the defense has the right to appeal the BR. This appeal creates a 4th out which negates the run. The 4th out is rarely seen because most teams don't even realize that it exists and many amateur umpires don't realize it either! Anytime a BR gives up on a 3rd out not made by him is subject to appeal