View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 10:10pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
I went and reviewed the article. Zman, I have 4 of the 11 rulings as incorrect.

Play #2 is wrong TWICE. First when he says that a problem has occurred and second when he states that nothing can be done after the entry.

Play #3 is wrong because the author mistakenly believes that what is in the official book is controlling.

Play #5 gives the wrong penalty for an illegal uniform. The author says that in NFHS play one T is charged and that the coach will also be charged indirectly.
Care to check the new memo?
"Another significant change approved by the committee will directly affect high school coaches. If a player is wearing an illegal jersey, illegal pants/skirt and/or an illegal number, a technical foul will be charged directly to the head coach. Previously, one technical foul was assessed to each improperly uniformed player per team."

From Play #10 "A35's technical foul is the fifth personal foul and A35 is disqualified." A disappointing terminology error.

Play #11 states that A32 who entered to attempt FTs for DQ'd A35 must wait until AFTER Team B attempts the technical foul FTs before departing. Really??? Is there some new requirement stating that a player cannot be substituted during the dead ball prior to an opponents' technical foul FTs?

Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Jul 30, 2008 at 10:59pm.
Reply With Quote