View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 07:27pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by inigo montoya
Doesn't the rule say the official MAY blow the play dead when... and then list different options? If you don't think it's fair to blow it dead in a 2-on-none, then choose one of the other options, e.g. the ball is dead.
NOTE: When a player is injured as in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player's team or when the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal) or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately suspend play.
You are correct....it says may, not shall. So, that means the official has a choice. The official may kill the play at any of the listed times.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote