Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc
Who has decided that, first, this A-11 formation provides an advantage to the offense?
|
The NCHSAA and GHSA are two entities that have decided the formation provides an advantage to the offense. For those us in those two states, that's all that matters.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Hickland
How about this?
If I make the assumption the A-11 is illegal. Fourth down. A lines up in the A-11 offense. The snap goes to the player lined up 7 yards beyond the line who rather than kick throws a pass downfield to a receiver who was eligible. All the ineligibles stayed behind the line.
Then think about it, what if, the down was 1, 2 or 3?
Think this is called a "fake punt."
Can't wait to see how NFHS crafts the words!
|
Think about this...what if it was down 1, 2, 3, and 4? Doesn't that make it an offense when you're consistenetly using it the majority of the time you lineup over the ball. Isn't an exception, by definition, something that isn't done a majority of the time?
Think about this...the team uses the numbering exeption with no intent to punt the ball or run a fake punt play.
Think about this...what if the team is putting 11 eligibly numbered players on the field and using a series of shifts in an effort to confuse the offense.
It's simply not as simple as you're trying to make it sound.
Wording of the rule? That's easy...Sonofaump has already addressed that.
"The numbering exception is legal only in obvious kicking situations."