Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
And if anyone attended any of the camps that I'm familiar with, if you failed to call a foul when a defender put both hands on the opponent, you would have heard about it a lot.
For college camps, what may be usually heard is "Don't you read the damn appendixes in the rulebook too? That tells you how the play should be called."
....As in NCAA Appendix II-Section7(b).
Camps that advocate ignoring illegal contact is the reason the exact same NFHS POE's and NCAA bulletins on contact get issued year after year after year.
|
Once again, unless I misread something, the rules did not change for incidental contact in both NCAA (4-40-3) and the NF (4-27-3). And I see no where in the "actually rules" that it says it is an automatic foul to put two hands on a player. Either the NCAA and/or NF change the rules on contact or stop trying to apply a "philosophy" which is in complete conflict of rules in your Appendix or POE. Also the heading of that NCAA Appendix III (not II) says "Officiating Guidelines. So these are guidelines, not rules or absolutes.
Peace