Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
This is what 4-68 says:
Art. 6. It is traveling when a player falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot.
I assume the NCAA is ruling that since A1 caught the ball in the air and fell directly to the floor that there is no pivot foot to maintain therefore it is not a travel.
I see no rule or A.R. that contridicts that.
BTW, I agree completely with your interpretation of " a".
BTW #2, why are you copying me? Quiz results
|
Sorry, I didn't know that you had already posted this. I must have been away for a few days when that happened.
I happen to believe that the NCAAW ruling that lack of an established pivot foot prevents a traveling call here is silly. I agree with the post by Snaqwells from your thread.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Okay, I forgot to add I disagree with this as well.
A pivot foot is not required for a travel.
1. A1 catches a pass at midcourt and proceeds to fall on his tail-end. This is a travel.
2. A1 catches the ball in the paint with both feet planted. He then jumps to shoot only to find B1 towering over him ready to block the shot. A1 returns to the floor with the ball. Travel.
Neither situation above has a pivot foot established. Who printed these answers?
|
Are both of these actions allowed in the NCAAW's game?
But most importantly, does anyone have a definitive answer on this play for the NCAAM's side?