Quote:
Originally posted by Tap
I can't find this in the ASA rule book or case book, but I think a lot of umpires get this wrong. If a player throws his bat accidentally (whether it hits the catcher or just is tossed quite a number of feet) and ends up reaching first base safely, my recollection is that the umpire CANNOT call the batter-runner out unless the bat interferes with the play. My sense is that the only option to the umpire is to warn the B-R or (if severe enough or if already warned) eject the B-R, but allow a sub to replace him a 1B.
A lot of umpires call the B-R out, perhaps as a compromise b/w not doing anything and ejecting, but I think this is incorrect. Any input would be appreciated.
|
ASA does not permit the umpire to rule players out for throwing a bat in any manner unless it interferes with the defenses ability to make a play on a batted ball or make a play to put a runner out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
|