View Single Post
Old Sun Jul 13, 2008, 05:39pm
Get away from me, Steve.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump
Just curious why Rich is talking to the media in the first place. I thought that was also a no-no?
I am an independent contractor. We do not have an association, or so the league reminded us when we tried to negotiate collectively this season. I had no problem communicating to the media when they asked for comments. At least the Madison media asked - the home team's town weekly rag wrote a blasting article and never once sought comment from us.

This league has a history of sweeping incidents under the rug. Dave and I were the assignors the past three seasons and we would not let that happen -- we pushed for suspensions and messages to be sent where needed. After last year we decided we would not reapply for the job for this season (we got paid poorly and had to put way too much time in it, especially with the lack of cooperation we got from the league), but would umpire once in a while for them if our schedules allowed. This was the fourth game I had umpired all season for them (in over two months of weekly games).

I did not "return to the field." I did roll the balls down the hill (the field sat at the bottom of a hill) and, in retrospect, it wasn't the brightest thing I've ever done as they were thrown back at us by an older gentleman who looked like he was an 8-year-old girl throwing with the wrong arm. Nobody was ever in danger of getting hurt, although both of us couldn't help but laugh as we kept walking away.

The president of the league asked us to keep it quiet, but when I saw the results misrepresented (the game was forfeited when the umpires decided to leave) in Monday's paper, I emailed my ejection/forfeit report to the local papers. That was what prompted the madison.com article.