View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 10, 2008, 02:09pm
Rick KY Rick KY is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Newport, KY
Posts: 176
NF Rule 2-17 details the FBZ. In order for a B player to be legally blocked below the waist or clipped, the A and B players must both have been on the line of scrimmage AND in the FBZ at the snap. On the line of scrimmage for B players is within 1 yard of the NZ (2-25-3). In order to be legally blocked in the back the B player must only have been in the FBZ at the snap, but there is no requirement to be on the line of scrimmage in this case. The A player must be on the line of scrimmage in all cases involving clipping, BIB and IBW.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote