View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 03, 2008, 06:38pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Your framework/guideline concept is nice, but when we have a specific case play that tells us exactly how to handle a situation I believe that we should follow that instead of imposing our personal feelings upon the game.

FALSE DOUBLE FOUL
4.19.9 SITUATION A: A1 leaps high and is fouled by B1 as he/she taps the ball which subsequently goes through A's basket. A1 fouls B2 in returning to the floor. RULING: This is a false double foul. The foul by B1 does not cause the ball to become dead. However, the player-control foul by A1 does cause the ball to become dead and also dictates that no goal can be scored. Since the goal is not scored, A1 is awarded two free throws for the foul by B1. No players are allowed along the lane as Team B will be awarded the ball following the last free throw. If the last throw is successful, the throw-in is from anywhere along the end line. If the last throw is unsuccessful, the throw-in is from a designated spot nearest the foul. (4-1; 4-11; 4-41-1; 6-7-7 Exception c: 6-7-4; 7-5-5)
You show me where it is typically done that way in practice and then I'll consider it. You personal desire to call it by the book in opposition to widely accepted practice (even knowingly against what the book specifically says) suggest that perhaps the letter of the book doesn't alway reveal the intent of the rule....as the first page of the rule book establishes is necessary to apply the rules correctly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref

PS So if something that happens AFTER the release of the ball can't possibly impact the shot, why do we cancel a goal for a PC foul on an airborne shooter? Because the rule says so. Is that more to your apples and oranges liking?
You fail to understand that the PC foul after the shot is a direct result of the path chosen to take the shot itself. Now what if the shooter lands and, in following their shot, shoves someone in the back...we still count the shot if it goes. That is much closer.

The "right" call is not always be found in the book.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Jul 03, 2008 at 06:41pm.
Reply With Quote