View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 02, 2008, 11:22pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Situation: 10 seconds remaining...A1 on the line for two after being fouled while shooting....and not in the bonus. B4 accidentally steps in early. In order to ensure that A1 doesn't get 3 chances for 2 shots, B4 lets A1 release then pulls A1 into the lane. What do we have? By Nevs. interp, we call both violations....on B4 and A1 (since A1 was in the lane before the ball hit), wipe the bucket, probably a foul on B4, and award a substitute throw, .
And Dan says that I come up with some 3rd World plays!

BTW my ruling is a lane violation on B4 as well as an INTENTIONAL PERSONAL FOUL. However, in order to count the FT still must be attempted from behind the line.

Therefore, in this particular instance the FT won't count if the shooter is pulled or pushed over the line, but a substitute throw will be awarded.
If the shooter were pulled six feet into the lane before tossing the ball up and into the basket, there is no way that I could defend scoring it.

EDITED: I changed my mind on this ruling!

Last edited by Nevadaref; Thu Jul 03, 2008 at 03:18pm.
Reply With Quote