View Single Post
  #74 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 01, 2002, 06:22am
Self Self is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 130
One more ruling

My IAABO contact went ahead and forwarded my question to the head of rules interpretation Roger MacTavish. Below is his answer, which agree with what has been said so far. He does explain a little more why dead ball is not mentioned in 10-3-10.

Kevin:
Â*Â*Â* You are correct it is a flagrant personal foul but I do not see any discrepancy in the rule or case book. If a punch is thrown and strikes a player and the ball is live, it's a flagrant personal foul. If it occurs while the ball is dead it's a flagrant technical foul. However you can have a technical foul while the ball is live. If a player uses profanity or throws a punch orÂ*attempts to kick a player and does not strike the player while the ball is live, that is a flagrant technical foul and the fighting rule is invoked. That is why in RuleÂ*10 Section 3 Art 10 "Be charged with a fight." does not state whether the ball is live or dead. It can be either. In all the Case Book plays it tells in the play if the ball is live or dead. Remember all dead ball contact fouls are intentional or flagrant technicals. Throwing a punch while the ballÂ* is live and missing is a flagrant technical foul. It's an unsportsmanlike act.
Check the following:Rule 4 Section 19 Art 1; Rule 4 Section 19 Art 5; Rule 4 Section 19 Art 13; Rule 4 Section 18
Â*Â*Â* I hope this helps. If not get back to me.
Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â* Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â* Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â*Â* Roger
Reply With Quote