View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 27, 2008, 08:48am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIIRISHMAN
R1 had taken her normal lead after the pitch. B/R was walked and jogging down to 1B. The ball was returned to pitcher in the circle.R1 was off 3B for 3 seconds and not moving until B/R hit 1B then R1 made a break for home. Coach's argument was R1 was out fror failure not to move while pitcher was in circle.
Speaking ASA, coach was wrong. R1 was not obligated to move until BR reached 1B.

re: "Little League's ... ambiguous lookback rule"

I don't have a LL rule book, but it was not that long ago that the ASA book was similarly vague. ASA only added the statement about the LBR not being in effect until the BR reaches 1B maybe 5 years ago?

I can recall this exact discussion several years ago on this board regarding ASA. The ASA interp that I recall was that the LBR went into effect for each runner individually, which would mean the coach would have been correct in making his argument above.

That's not the way it is now, though.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote