Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA SP.
Stop right there. A lot of this depends on the timing. If R1 is just standing on 3B when the pitcher receives the ball in the infield and there was no OBVIOUS play (and I'm not talking about the appeal), the ball should be dead.
|
I agree, and I did not explain the scenario well enough. As the pitcher was calling for the ball (still in the outfield), R1 started retreating towards 2B. R1 was about half way back to the bag when the pitcher received the ball in the infield.
Quote:
If the ball is still live to where an appeal is made, after the appeal, the umpire should most likely kill play.
|
Good point and something I will be more vigilant for next time. Calling time in SP is still an adjustment from FP and baseball that I am getting used to.