Now, regarding FED. From the 2008 Casebook: (my bolding for emphasis)
8.2.2 SITUATION M: With R1 on second, B2 hits a grounder to left field. R1 touches third base but misses the plate in attempting to score. F7 having thrown home, F2 steps on the missed base to retire R1 and throws to F6 in an attempt to put out B2: (a) before R1 attempts to return home; or (b) after R1 attempts to return to touch home plate. RULING: (a) Upon proper defensive appeal, R1 would be ruled out. (b) Since R1 initiated action prior to the defense touching the plate, R1 must be tagged to record the out. R1 may legally return to touch home if he has not touched the steps of the dugout and if a subsequent runner has not yet scored.
etn_ump said it much more succinctly, but I hope this reply is convincing for FED.
|