Quote:
Originally Posted by Lapopez
Can a runner return to touch a missed home plate after he has entered the dugout? I'm inclined to say that he can. Also, not that it would be the advisable way to conduct an appeal, but, could a catcher enter the dugout to tag the runner he suspects missed home plate? I'm a "show-me-the-rule" guy, so OBR and FED references would be greatly appreciated.
|
Rule 7.10 Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when (d) He fails to touch home base and makes no attempt to return to that base, and home base is tagged.
Section 5.3 of the MLBUM: 5.3 RUNNER MISSES HOME PLATE
Should a runner, in scoring, fail to touch home plate and continue on his way to the bench (making no effort to return), he may be put out by the fielder touching home plate and appealing to the umpire for a decision. However, this rule applies only where a runner is on his way to the bench and the catcher would be required to chase the runner. It does not apply to the ordinary play where the runner misses the plate and then immediately makes an effort to touch the plate before being tagged. In that case, the runner must be tagged. In such cases, base path rules still apply to the runner (i.e., he may not run more than three feet from the "baseline" between him and home plate).
On a play at the plate, should the runner miss home plate and the fielder miss the tag on the runner, it is preferable that the umpire make no signal on the play. As outlined in the previous paragraph, the runner must then be tagged if he attempts to return to the plate; if he continues on his way to the bench, the defense may make an appeal.
A runner may no longer return to touch a missed base — home plate or otherwise — after having entered the dugout.
I don't do FED. Can't help you there.
Rita