View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 22, 2008, 08:23am
Forksref Forksref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Don't have my rule books with me, but I recall that the Fed rule was changed to eliminate the following:

A is behind by a few points. With time running out in the game, A player is running toward the EZ and there is an A player downfield beyond the last B player. As the B player comes up to make the tackle, A player with the ball stops and throws a pass to the B player who gets an easy score. The score is disallowed, and assuming that it was not 4th down, A gets another down (not a replay) which is untimed if the clock had run out. The foul is enforced from where he threw the pass (end of the run).

Unfortunately, if this situation had followed a COP, then B is not covered in the rule. As in most rule changes, the intent is there to eliminate an unfair situation, but it was not thought through enough to cover a similar situation. It can easily be corrected.
Reply With Quote