Self,when I made my comments,I went by the sitch that you outlined-i.e.A1 hits B1 in the back.I agree 100% with Tony and Mark that if it's a swing with no contact,it can't be a personal foul but has to be a T.The retaliation would be a T also-and I'd personally call it a double flagrant technical foul,so that the instigator doesn't benefit.In this case,R4-19-1 defines it as flagrant,and it has to be a flagrant T.That's consistent with all the rules that have been quoted so far.Don't forget that the casebook play I quoted as a double-personal foul also clearly states that they punched each other,not attempted to punch each other.
|