Quote:
|
Originally Posted by MNBlue
In my cave, when ASA 1.Catch and Carry says:
"A legal catch that a defensive player carries into dead ball territory."
I believe it is pretty much stating that the rules for a legal catch come into play. With that in mind, if F7 didn't 'legally catch' the ball, then we can't apply the unintentional catch/carry rule, ASA 8.5.J
|
where does 8.5.J ever mention having to have caught the ball?
It says "when a live ball is unintentionally carried by a fielder from live ball territory". Then gives an example of a fielder running into a dugout to tag a player. Effect ball is dead and all runners are awarded one base from where they were when the ball left the field of play.
Why does this not apply to this situation...ball touched in fair ball and was unintentionally carried out of play.
8.5.I deals with a ball "Deflects off a defensive player and goes out of play into foul ball territory". This ball never deflected. Also talks about a fair batted ball that bounces over or goes through the fence.
To me looks like 8.5.J. is the most applicable rule.