Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus
This is from USSSA Rules (OBR):
8.07.H
If, with a runner on third (3rd) base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of the ball, or touches the batter or his bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter shall be awarded first (1st) base on the interference and the ball is dead.
How often does this come up? How is a catcher supposed to field a squeeze bunt (not that they would - they're probably the only fielder who could receive a throw and attempt to tag R3 trying to score on a squeeze) if they can't cross or step in front of home? Are they supposed to just stay behind the plate?
|
The rule is referring to the catcher interfering with the batter's ability to hit / bunt the pitch. That is, "If the catcher jumps in front of the plate and catches the pitch before it reaches the batter, .... award" Once the ball is bunted, this rule doesn't apply.
Quote:
Then there's this one from the other side of things (i.e., from the Batter's perspective):
8.06.I.3
A batter is out for illegal action when: He interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter's box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play at home base.
On a squeeze/steal home, then, should the batter just freeze in the batter's box? Wouldn't that impede the catcher making a play? Should the Batter back out of the box and risk interfering that way (i.e., making any other movement that hinders)?
Any help in understand the application of these rules would be appreciated.
|
Again, this is referring to the BATTER, not the BATTER-RUNNER. So, in the squeeze situation, it implies that the batter missed the ball. The batter can then "act like a batter" (think of the many "missed" sacrifice bunts -- what does the batter do?), but any other movement would make him liable for interference.