View Single Post
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 27, 2002, 05:31pm
Self Self is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 130
Re: Re: I agee that line need to be added..

Quote:
Fighting includes an attempt to strike, punch or kick an opponent with a fist, hands, arms, legs or feet regardless of whether contact is made." As I stated earlier, this clearly states that one person swinging at another is fighting. Nothing else is required....
Agreed, Its just not what I would call fighting, but per rule this is correct so I will use it correctly.. I am still going to call a flagrant personal not flagrant technical since it is a live ball.....

Quote:
If a A1 from behind turns and hits a B1 in the back during live ball. I am calling a Flagrant personal foul. If nothing else happens we will shoot two free throws and bring the ball in at point of foul.You're not going to eject A1? But if B1 turns around and swings, you're going to eject him. Or am I misunderstanding you? :confused....

Thought being flagrant went without saying he is ejected, so yes flagrant personal A1 ejected then we are shooting two free throws and bringing in the ball at point of foul....Unless b1 swings...

Quote:
1.) Now A1 has a technical, a second and he is ejected, and has to sit out two games. See, there's a difference. In NC, we don't suspend a player just because he gets a 2nd technical. He must fight, use profanity against an opponent or official, taunt or bait, make an obscene gesture, or disrespectfully address or contact an official. You're in GA, correct? Would they suspend a player who got 2 T's for hanging on the rim?
Yes Ga... If you are ejected for any unsportsmanship act in the state of Ga., this requires a two game suspension. So yes hanging on the rim would be deemed unsportsman, so he would be suspended. I have to verify, although it could be rare, 1st T for hanging on the rim, 2nd T for illegal number. Since player was actually ejected because of illegal number being 2nd T. What if this was reversed would it be different.. Have to check, will let you know.....

Quote:
This is what I was trying to stress. I do see the confusion in the way this is written though. I guess though I will fall back to 4-19-5c, This says a flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead is a technical. So during live ball I am calling flagrant personal, and dead ball flagrant technical. And that's fine. And I agree that when officials call a T for some other live ball foul, they are incorrect. But hopefully, you can see that if someone else chose to call a T for fighting during a live ball, they would be within the rules.
I defiitely see the confusion, and it could very easily be cleared up with that additional line in the rules.


____________________________
Reply With Quote