Quote:
Originally Posted by Niner
I am confused. Could someone explain. "NOw, I have always been of the opinion that this is a change of possession. And of course, we then penalize from the previous spot with an automatic 1st down." I was assuming that this would be penalized from the end of the run regardless of change of possession. Example, A1 runs the ball thru the middle of the line where he is face masked. He continues his run for 30 yards where he is hit and fumbles the ball. B recovers the fumble 5 yards further down the field. The penalty of five yards would be administered from the spot of the fumble (end of run)and A retains the ball. Is this wrong?
|
REPLY: No your're correct. Enforce from the spot of the end of the run (fumble). But your play is a normal running play. We were specifically talking about roughing the passer whose enforcement is an exception to the all-but-one principle which would normally enforce the penalty from the previous spot as a foul during a loose ball play (Fed) or a forward pass play (NCAA). When roughing the passer occurs, the penalty yardage is 'tacked on' to the last run beyond the neutral zone unless there was a change of possession during the down. See either 9-1-2-L (NCAA) or 9-4-4 Penalty (Federation). Both rule codes say that the 'tack on' option is off the table if there is a change of possession during the down. Then enforcement would revert back to previous spot.