Thread: Runner Question
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 18, 2008, 02:05pm
PeteBooth PeteBooth is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus
This is from USSSA Rules (OBR):

8.07.H
If, with a runner on third (3rd) base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of the ball, or touches the batter or his bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter shall be awarded first (1st) base on the interference and the ball is dead.


How often does this come up? How is a catcher supposed to field a squeeze bunt (not that they would - they're probably the only fielder who could receive a throw and attempt to tag R3 trying to score on a squeeze) if they can't cross or step in front of home? Are they supposed to just stay behind the plate?

Any help in understand the application of this rule would be appreciated.
You are forgetting about the batter. The batter has the right to offer at any pitch he so chooses. If F2 steps in front of home plate then B1 is prevented from doing this.

Now if F1 disengaged properly then he is no longer classified as F1 but an infielder and now F2 may move up to receive the throw. If B1 attempts to hit the ball then it is the batter who will have interfered.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote