View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 06:43pm
SC Ump SC Ump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.

... if he journeys into the ENZ without engaging a defender, then he is illegally downfield. But that really is the intention.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc

You might reason the objective of this rule to simply mean...

The object of 7.5.12 is ...
This started out as a "devil's advocate" kind of post, and then I noted the part, "at the snap, he immediately contacts a B lineman." Is that to say if a B back performed a delayed blitz and was blocked by ineligible A who drove him into the the ENZ, this would be a foul? (It was not at the snap, nor immediate, nor against a B lineman.)

This is serious and tongue-in-cheek. I'm wanting to make sure I understand the rule inside and out for the test. I think I know what I would call on the field. (Stickly by the book, of course. )
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote