View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 05:25pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire
Bad choices of words...I should have used "changed". You should have posted both new sections, not just that which pertains to MLB only.

The following two paragraphs are additional material for Rule 6.02(b) Comment, for Major League play only:

If pitcher delays once the batter is in his box and the umpire feels that the delay is not justified he may allow the batter to step out of the box momentarily.

If after the pitcher starts his windup or comes to a “set position” with a runner on, he does not go through with his pitch because the batter has stepped out of the box, it shall not be called a balk. Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule and the umpire shall call time and both the batter and pitcher start over from “scratch.”


The following paragraph is additional material for Rule 6.02(b) Comment, for National Association play (in lieu of the additional two paragraphs, above, that apply to Major League play):

If after the pitcher starts his windup or comes to a “set position” with a runner on, he does not go through with his pitch because the batter has stepped out of the box, the umpire shall not call a balk. The umpire shall call an automatic strike if Rule 6.02(d)(1) calls for such sanction.

And to apply 6.02(d)(1) the batter would have to step out with BOTH feet.

I don't know how many orgs use which rules. (LL didn't put in the MiLB version.)
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote