View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 11, 2008, 11:20pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
Once a runner passes a base, the force is removed. I don't think that is in dispute. It takes an appeal to put the runner out at this point.

Your question then (if I understand correctly) is whether a tag of the plate constitutes a proper appeal or whether the runner must be tagged if he's trying to return. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I'd give citations, but my books are in boxes. I'm moving in 19 days.
NCAA rules (original question was about NCAA), 8-1a: PENALTY- For failing to touch a base advancing or returning: The runner is out if touched by the ball in the hands of a fielder before returning to each untouched base. If the base missed was one to which the runner was forced, the runner is out when tagged or if the ball is held by a fielder on any base the runner failed to touch (including home plate).

Now maybe it is semantics whether the force is off due to a miss but the fundamental question was does the runner have to be tagged if he missed home when forced there and according to the the written rule in NCAA he does not have to be tagged. Sounds to me like the force is still on.

I see nothing in J/R opposite to NCAA written rule and nothing in BRD so it seems the same in all rules.

You can't get an out without an appeal. A tag of the the runner is an appeal and a tag of the base is an appeal. The question was whether he had to be tagged if he was trying to return. A tag is not required.

Last edited by DG; Wed Jun 11, 2008 at 11:25pm.
Reply With Quote