quote:
The official was correct. Most AAU leagues play by NCAA rules. If you were indeed playing by NCAA rules, and your opponent had the ball when the T was called, the official was right in giving the ball back to your opponent..
Direct from AAU Competition Handbook:
B. PLAYING RULES - To be administered at all National Championship qualifying competitions.
1. 9:U/3rd grade- Junior Boys' Division
In the 9:U/3rd grade through the Junior Boys' Division, the playing rules shall be the National Federation
of State High School Association rules for the current year except where modified by this manual.
2. Senior Boys' Division
At the AAU Senior Boys' National Basketball Championship the NCAA Men's Basketball rules (35 second
shot clock) will be used, except where modified by this manual. In other AAU sanctioned events for the
Senior Boys' Division, the Association Sport Committee may elect to use National Federation of State
High School Association rules or NCAA rules with or without a shot clock.
Sorry for not being clear. This was a 12U/6th Grade league. The league's rules are stated as following NFHS with modifications for timeouts, running clock, and overtimes.
quote:
You are correct that 30 seconds is allowable to replace a DQ'd player. However, the official is correct that a timeout cannot be granted until the player is replaced. Running clock rules are a local issue, so I can't address that.
I realize that the timeout could not be granted. The point I was trying to make is he didn't know the amount of time for replacing a player and by this action was giving an unfair advantage during an administrative procedure. Would it have made a difference if the foul was called with :59 remaining and the opposing coach could run out the clock?
quote:
There's nothing forbidding a Trail official from calling a foul that occurs in the paint. Each official has a primary area of responisibility. But the Officials Manual also requires us to call a foul when we see a foul. Your remark was out of line.
Correct, there is nothing forbidding it. However, the point was that the official was "ball hawking" and if he is continually watching the ball, he is disregarding his other responsibilities. You are right that I shouldn't have said anything at that time to him. I should have addressed it a little bit more discreetly during a stoppage of play.
quote:
There's absolutely, postively nothing illegal about this play. It is perfectly legal for a player to lift his/her pivot foot prior to releasing the ball on a pass or dribble. NF 4.43.3 SITUATION C
Either I didn't clearly define the situation or I am off base on NF 4.43.3 Sit C. Let me try again...the player has the ball and has not established a pivot. He takes a step with 1 foot (thereby establishing his pivot) and then lifts the other (pivot) off of the floor. (Here is the difference) He then puts his other foot on the floor to shoot. My understanding is that when his original pivot foot touches the floor for the 2nd time, it is a travelling violation. If he had not put his original pivot foot on the floor (same as a layup), it would not be travelling.
I read and study the rule and case books often. Anytime we have a situation like the examples I tried to provide, I go back to try to make certain I understand them correctly. Which was exactly my point of this thread. Being an offical has given me a greater appreciation for what the official's have to deal with during a game. Being a coach, I have a better appreciation for how an official can impact a game.
|