View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 05:00pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Originally Posted by pompetti
What would the call be in ASA? Untouched batted ball hits R1 standing on 2B.
Anytime a fair, untouched batted ball hit a runner in contact with the base, the runner is NOT out unless s/he acted in a manner to interfere with the ball/play.

The status of the ball depends on the location of the nearest fielder. If that fielder was playing in front of the runner, the ball is live. If that fielder was playing behind the runner, it is a dead ball, the BR is awarded 1B and any runner forced to advance due the award is advanced. All other runners return.
Reply With Quote