View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 03:03pm
DaveASA/FED DaveASA/FED is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Well as my name implies I call FED and ASA but if you look closely at your post the difference is that in 8.10.E it has not been touched prior to hitting the runner, in 9.2.K it has touched a fielder.

Touching a fielder makes this a different situation, it now becomes a deflected ball, might not change course much or hardly at all but #1 a fielder had the first chance at fielding the ball and missed it #2 they could have changed the direction of the ball causing it to hit the runner. So the rules (at least FED and ASA) make the contact with a deflected ball have to be intentional to get INT. There are other differences between a deflected ball and a non deflected ball but the main question in your OP is answered by the my statement above I think!
Reply With Quote