Quote:
Originally Posted by dino14
We are split on this call, half of us call him out the other half calls him safe.
So we decided to ask the forum and let the Almighty OF be the decider...
Runners on 2 and 3. 1out B1 hits line drive and hits R2 who is STANDING on 2nd base. I know what you're thinking, why is the runner not getting his lead and secondary jump. We are applying this situation to 11-12 Dixie Youth Baseball. My ruling is the runner(R2)is out, B1 is awarded 1b and R3 stays on third, now you have 2 outs. Who is right and who is wrong. Thanks for all the imput and clarification!!
|
Unless your league has a different set of rules, you are correct. If a runner is hit by a batted ball while he is in fair territory, the runner is out (unless the infield was playing in, in which case the runner is not out because the ball hit him after the ball passed the infielders).