View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 04, 2008, 10:40pm
JasonTX JasonTX is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by With_Two_Flakes
OK, I'm no rules expert, but I'll take a stab at it.

The fumble into the pylon gives a Touchback to A. Since B didn't end the down with the ball, it can't be PSK as that is one of the five requirements for PSK.
If A accept the penalty, the illegal touching dissapears.
Since it isn't PSK, the penalty is administered from the previous spot.
1/10 for A at B's 33.
Actually the requirement is that Team A does not have possession of the ball when the down ends.(10-2-2-e exception 3 e). A team is "in possession" when one of its players is "in possession" (2-2-5-b) In this play no team A player was in possession when the down ended.

My ruling is that this is PSK and it will be B's ball 1st and 10 at the B 1.5
Reply With Quote