Thread: Replant
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 31, 2008, 11:08am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota

Somewhere along the way, I was taught / learned / read / picked up / make up that the pitching delivery rules (mostly contained in ASA 6-3 and NFHS 6-1) started when the hands came together and separated again to begin the delivery and ended when the stride foot landed. I'm willing to relearn this long-standing "truth", but merely restating ASA 6-3-J in isolation from the rest of 6-3... I'm having trouble with that.
To me, the delivery ends with the release. After all, at that point the pitcher no longer has anything to deliver, it's gone!

Quote:
Even the term "release" cannot be interpreted in enforcing rule 6-3 as being a single instant in time (unlike its interpretation in the LBR). Otherwise, virtually every windmill pitcher on the planet is illegal. How can a "release" (ball leaves the hand) ever be simultaneous with the leap and drag (name of the style - does not imply an illegal leap) windmill "stride"?
Why do you say that? Are you now defining "landing" as the foot touching the ground as opposed to coming to a stop? I had a physics professor who was also a softball coach once explain to me the the stride foot coming down to a stop helped with the speed at which the ball was released. Not a physics person, so I take him for his word.

Besides, what you can see on an slow motion replay and what an umpire sees
with the naked eye are two different pictures. You don't make judgments base on what you know may be assumed or what was seen the previous night on TV. You make them at real time watching the pitcher live without the benefit of replay.

Quote:
How many windmill pitchers have their stride foot land while the ball is still coming around on the windmill motion? Simultaneous means simultaneous, so if "release" is the instant the ball leaves the hand, then the step was NOT simultaneous with the release. It was BEFORE the release. Obviously, the rule does not mean that and is not intended to be interpreted that way. Unless I'm missing something else again...
Again, you need to define "landing". If using it to means coming to a rest or stop, then most of the pitchers to which you refer are legal (in the sense of this topic).

Quote:
So, when DO the regulations of ASA 6-3 end? If not when the stride foot lands, and if release is not an instant in time in the rule, when?
I'll stick with the release. Any extraneous acts by the pitcher other than continuing their delivery motion has no bearing on the pitch.

JMHO
Reply With Quote