Thread: Replant
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 31, 2008, 09:47am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
And I thought I was anal. Excuse me for not typing out the entire rule, but only the portion under discussion. However, the quoted rule specifically defines the limitations of the pivot foot during the delivery of the pitch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue

The NFHS places that identical sentence within a paragraph which identifies legal or illegal actions prior to the stride foot landing. The NCAA book rules that after the initial push from the plate, you cannot have a second push point prior to the stride foot landing.
Does NFHS and NCAA define a STEP or are we using the Merriam-Webster definition? Now, the term "landing" can be construed in a couple of ways. Is it's meaning here refer to coming down or coming to a rest?

I have seen pitchers in HS ball take a very abbreviated "step" which was nothing more than sliding the non-pivot foot forward a few inches on the ground. I'm not getting down to see if the foot completely left the ground, but I am also not going to demand the pitcher raise her foot high enough for my convenience. AFAIC, the pitcher met the burden of the rule.

Since I don't believe there is a rule demanding the pitcher actually lift their foot a specific height or define the distance of the step, this must be completely legal in ASA as long as it is simultaneous with the "release" of the ball. To me, that would indicate the a step and then release would be illegal though it would never be called unless a pitcher was so slow it would be obvious and even then I doubt many, if any, umpires would call it.

So, to get back to the original question. In ASA, any replant not in contact with the pitcher's plate during a pitcher's delivery prior to the release of the ball to the catcher while the batter is in the proper position completely within the confines of the batter's box and prepared to hit causes an IP, don't really care where the non-pivot foot is. However, pushing off and dragging from the pitcher's plate is always going to be legal as long as the release is simultaneous with the "step".
Reply With Quote