View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 30, 2008, 09:28am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Waste of time arguing.
Hold on there now, not so fast young fella. Nobodys arguing you should prove to the non-believers of the board beyond a reasonable doubt. And you sir, Nevada & whoever else is pushing this violation have yet to do so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
After a player has batted/pushed the ball to start an individual dribble, that player can't touch the ball again with either hand until the ball hits the floor. If the player does so, it's a violation.
I think we're in unison on this point, BUT what if (in the calling officials judgement) in between the dribbler touching the ball twice (either hand) the deflection off the players foot in the OP was ruled an interupted dribble?

Facts: There was a deflection before the second touch because the ball struck the defenders body.

Judgment:
Official 1: The ball momentarily got away & took a lucky bounce plus the player had long arms regaining control... interupted dribble??

Official 2: The defender made a great attemp to steal the around the back dribble so the dribbler intentionally kicked back at the ball to avoid getting ripped... kick??

Official 3: The ball was touched by the hand twice before striking the floor... violation??

I think all 3 decisions have a ruling to support them depending upon the judgement of the official & how the play unfolds.
When it comes down judgement on a correct ruling the words:
deflection
momentarily
loose

are not clearly defined, well at least not to some of us.

Court is in session...
Reply With Quote