View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 29, 2008, 08:42pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
So we agree that air dribbles are illegal, but we don't agree on what constitutes one.
A1 is being guarded by B1. A1 has just received a pass and has yet to dribble. A1 throws the ball UPWARDS over B1's head and runs around him. The ball is allowed to strike the floor and A1 catches it.
Legal or not?
Legal. The player released the ball, it hit the floor. What else could it be?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
So what if the ball never came to rest in the hand. Say that the dribbler merely tapped the ball from his right hand to his left.
To accomplish that, the ball would have to have been batted into the air....violation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref

VERY WRONG. The rule means exactly that. Two intentional touches during a dribble prior to the ball striking the floor equal a violation.
By what rule? The only one that talks about two touches applies when the ball is batted into the air. If it is not batted into the air, it doesn't apply. The only other rule on the topic refers to simultaneous touching.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
As you know loss of player control is the key element. It seems that most people are not considering the player to have lost control after he bounced the ball off his foot as it came up right to him and did not momentarily get away from the dribbler. But you can argue that if you wish.
"Most"? Interrupted dribble implies loss of control. Loss of control doesn't imply interrupted dribble. Your causality is backwards.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref

Why are you hung up on TWO hands? You need to focus on TWO separate touches.
The illegal touching could be done by one hand. A player could push the ball downward and forward with his right hand, but then quickly reach out with the same hand and deflect the ball to the side or pull it back to him before it contacts the floor. That movement is illegal as well.
Again, by what rule?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I have no idea why you are attempting to confuse the issue with terms such as "general case" and "precise rule." The dribble is either illegal or it isn't. That's all.
And it isn't.

Do you, when a player is dribbling ensure that the dribbling hand maintains continuous contact with the ball? By your argument, it would be a violation if the ball ever had so much as a brief seperation from the hand.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote