View Single Post
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 27, 2008, 05:31pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump
But if you read the rule literally, he became a batter runner when I called the delayed dead ball, not when I made the award. So when the ball flew into CF, the BR could run to 1st. The outcome of this play that has me thinking we should not read this rule literally is R1 at 3rd, R2 at 1st. I don't like that and would rather not call it that way.
Okay, now I see where your pointing.

You are correct, according to the rule the batter becomes a BR upon the CO. So, no problem, you think. Just tag the BR out to end the play. But wait!!!

According to 8.2, the only way to retire a BR is if s/he hit a fair ball or it was a D3K, right? NO! According to 8.2.D, the BR who was the victim of CO can be ruled out if they leave the field of play and enter DBT!

Damn, are we having fun yet!?!?

If I remember correctly, I attempted to have this wording changed to alleviate a mess which no one could ever envision, but I didn't get this deep into the possibilities.

Okay, show of hands. Scenario: The batter attempted to hit the ball and missed but was OBS by the catcher. S/he advances to 1B safely, but R1 (from 1B) was thrown out attempting to take 3B on the play.

How many on this board would drop the CO and rule R1 out at 3B? For that matter, who would just stand there saying, "where the hell is s/he going?" referring to the recently ordained BR?
Reply With Quote