Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump
So, I agree with you in principle, but if I read the rule as making them a batter runner, I'm not sure how I can back it up from the book. ...
|
I'm having trouble understanding your issue with this. By rule, the batter becomes a BR, with the effect of an award of 1B. And you can't back this up from the rule book?
Here are a couple of case plays that, while not exactly the same situation, are close enough that I hope you can understand the rule (and the ruling).
These are from the 2007 ASA Case Book.
Quote:
PLAY 8.1-21
In the bottom of the seventh inning with a tied score and one out, R1 is at 3B,and B3 comes to bat. B3 is obstructed by F2 while swinging and missing a pitched ball. B3 is awarded 1B on the catcher’s obstruction and R1 remains at 3B. May B3 take the result of the play instead of the award?
RULING: Yes, a swinging strike is a play, just as much as a fly ball or a base hit. The manager of the offensive team should have the option of B3 being awarded 1B, or taking the result of the play by B3 remaining at the plate with a strike added to the count. (8-1D[2])
PLAY 8.1-22
The home team is behind 2-1 in the bottom of the seventh inning with one out, R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B. An illegal pitch is thrown to B4 and called by the umpire. However, B4 swings at the pitch and misses because F2 obstructs B4.
RULING: In (FP) B4 can swing at an illegal pitch, however, it does not remove the obstruction call. When the obstruction occurred, the offensive manager is given the choice of the result of play or the obstruction penalty because the batter and all runners did not advance one base. The result of the play would be awarding both runners one base and a ball on the batter for the illegal pitch call, or taking the obstruction penalty would result in the bases being loaded and no run scoring. In (SP) when the batter swings at the illegal pitch, this removes the call, therefore either the obstruction penalty would be enforced resulting in B4 being awarded 1B or taking the result of the play by remaining at the plate with an additional strike. (8-1D[2])
|