
Tue May 20, 2008, 04:58pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Since, by ASA interpretation and rule, the ball is caught and intentionally dropped, the BR is out on the catch. If the rule is invoked, the catch and drop did not fool the umpire - it was a catch. So, this can't be for protection of the BR.
|
The protection is against an easy double play which the defense most likely will not turn if the BR runs out the play.
|