View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 01:03am
socalblue1 socalblue1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Mark,

The non-calls were all correct - no way to have a balk on a dead ball. Had the PU put the ball into play thinking F1 was in contact it would STILL not be a balk, as the ball could not have legally been made live.

Intent is exactly the same in all rule code (OBR, FED & NCAA). The actual location of F1 in relation to the rubber (Pitchers plate) may differer slightly (On or astride vs within 5ft, etc) but all have three requirements for a balk to be called:

1. Live ball
2. Runner(s) on base
3. F1 is on or astride the rubber without the ball