Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverdale
mechanics question...I have been taught that the BU has first throw responsibilty to anything hit in the infield...what if a ball is hit to F8 and she drops it, im looping inside, r1 is headed to 3rd from 2nd base...does BU have first throw to 3rd or does PU come up and take lead runner ? I was postioned behind F6 and my partner says 3rd was his...does 1st throw change from a ball hit to the infield vs outfield ?
|
I had this EXACT same play today, and it PISSED me off that we had a double call....first throw FROM THE OUTFIELD was to third on a rounding runner....runner heads back, Im coming up the line, ( Im PU,lead runner scoring easily,) and we had a double call..that call belongs to the PLATE umpire.
to put it simply... base hit to the outfield, split the infield as far as responsibility, Bu has 1st and second, plate has home and 3rd... the EXCEPTIONS are... a throwback from a play at home to 3rd belongs to the BASE umpire, and the batter runner is always the base umpire responsibility all the way to third.