Thread: NCAA Regionals
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 18, 2008, 07:45am
bigsig bigsig is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Posts: 186
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Just saw replay of a missed tag-missed plate play in the Purdue-Cal Fullerton game.

To ME, and it just may be me, it seemed like the PU tipped off the play.

Catcher made a sweep tag and missed, but did not pursue the runner. Instead, she turned toward the umpire looking for a call as she was standing up. Umpire made no call or movement, but just stared in the general direction of the area behind the plate. Catcher figured out that if there was no call, she still had a play.
Did he hesitate, then make the safe signal? Or is that just an ASA mechanic?
"Experience is valued least by those without it."
Reply With Quote