View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 16, 2008, 03:20pm
NCASAUmp NCASAUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
Sit 1: R1 coming home, F2 blocking the plate, play goes to 3B. F2, watching play, fails to move and R1 knocks her down in attempt to reach plate. (Not flagrant or malicious.)

Sit 2: F4 is set in baseline; R1 is stealing and runs into F4.

In both cases, we signal obstruction. But then what? Both ASA Crash Rule and NFHS slide or avoid illegal contact discuss a defender in the act of making a play on the runner. That is not true in my situations.

Can you give me a rule, interpretation, or case play in either code to support calling the runner out? If not, when do the basepaths become shooting galleries?


WMB
Both situations: If contact is unavoidable (ie., F2 steps in at the last second), then I have nothing on R1. If contact is avoidable, I've got USC. I'll still count the run in sitch 1, because the ejection is coming after the play's over (though many of you know how I feel about letting a runner score after USC).

OBS does not give a runner a chance to give a free shot. If I've got OBS, I've got that runner protected from being put out, and I'll award the base she would've reached. Therefore, there's absolutely NO reason for contact if it's avoidable. Unfortunately, I've heard some coaches teach the exact opposite, then wonder why their player is tossed.

If it's adult rec league, I might give the defensive player a "heads up" and advise them not to be in the base path, else they might get inadvertantly creamed.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote