Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaycec
So for hitting, one foot on the ground and completely out of the box = out of the box.
Put for running, one foot on the ground and completely out of the box = not out of the box.
That doesn't seem right. Anyone have a specific rule for me?
|
I Googled this type of play and found an answer from Dr. Mark Ambrose on an Experts forum at About.com. His credentials seem pretty solid.
You can view his answer here
This seems to make sense given the rules of when a batter is considered in the box and when she isn't. ASA tends to be very consistent.
I believe the OP should have called the batter out when she touched the ball given she was
out of the box.
Edited to add: Again, assuming "most of her body" includes a foot touching the ground outside the lines.