Quote:
Originally Posted by THREE
Base runners on 2nd & 3rd.
1 out
1 strike on batter
next pitch--batters swings and misses pitch and ball gets past catcher.
Coach(s) and fans are hollering "run-run-run" for the runner at third to come home. Batter who now has only 2 strikes starts running to first. The first baselady is running toward home plate to cover plate for runner advancing from third. Catcher and first baselady has no chance of outing runner advancing from third. Question--if batter who is running towards first and firstlady who is running towards home to make play on runner advancing from third "collide", what do we have (if anyting)?
|
That would depend on whether there was a play to be made at home and, in the umpire's judgment, F3 was the one who would have made that play. If that is the case, interference would be the call.
BTW, I don't feel that the softball field is any place to "out" anyone, even if she is one the "other" team.