View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 07:21pm
Dave Reed Dave Reed is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
However, a different rule (8-4-2) implies a contrary result:

Any runner is out when he:

j. fails to reach the next base before a fielder either tags the runner out or holds the ball while touching such base, after runner has been forced from the base he occupied because the batter became a runner (with ball in play) when other runners were on first base, or on first and second, or on first, second and third. There shall be no accidental appeals on a force play.

I believe that 2-29-3 simply means that if an appeal is sustained on a missed base, the out is a force out, and not a timing play. I suppose that FED isn't intentionally trying to handle the concept of acquiring a base differently to OBR and NCAA.
Reply With Quote